The best cordless chainsaws on Amazon for 2026 no longer apologize for being battery-powered: the current slate runs from a 2.7-pound one-handed pruner to 50cc-gas-equivalent 18-inch fellers, our seven picks span $33.29 to $309.99, and every unit below was verified live and in stock through Amazon’s product API. If you cut firewood, clean up after storms, or just prune the backyard, there is now a battery saw that does the job a gas saw did – without the pull cord, the mixing can, or the winter carburetor funeral.
Affiliate disclosure: As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. We earn commission from qualifying purchases made through links on this page. This never affects our rankings or what we recommend.

What’s in this guide
- The 7 best cordless chainsaws on Amazon at a glance
- The picks, reviewed one by one
- Power and runtime: what voltage and amp-hours actually buy
- Failure modes: what actually breaks, per owner reports
- Gas vs. battery: the honest decision guide
- Safety: what the extension services insist on
- Where we disagree with the big testers
- How we chose
- Frequently asked questions
The 7 best cordless chainsaws on Amazon at a glance
Live Amazon pricing, each saw’s standout spec from its own listing, its best-seller rank inside Amazon’s Chainsaws category, and current deal status – full reviews below.
| Product | Standout spec | Price | Track record | Deal |
|---|---|---|---|---|
![]() EGO Power+ EGO POWER+ Chain Saw, 18" Battery Powered Chainsaw, Electric Cordless, Battery |
50cc gas equivalent, 2500W high-efficiency brushless motor delivers chain speeds up to 22 m/s | $239.99 $309.99 |
#29 in Chainsaws |
23% OFF Prime Exclusive Available to ship in 1-2 days |
![]() Greenworks Greenworks 60V 18 in Cordless Electric Chainsaw, 4.0 Ah Battery and Charger |
RUNTIME: Up to 110 cuts on a single charge with the included 4.0Ah battery on 4×4 wood | $309.99 $399.99 |
#120 in Chainsaws |
23% OFF In Stock |
![]() EGO Power+ EGO POWER+ Chain Saw, 16” Battery Powered Chainsaw, Electric Cordless, Include |
40CC gas equivalent | $249.00 $279.99 |
#12 in Chainsaws |
11% OFF In Stock |
![]() RYOBI 16 in. 40-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless Electric Cordless Chainsaw (Tool Only) |
Powerful as Gas: 16 in. bar and chain | $299.99 |
#285 in Chainsaws |
Only 3 left in stock – order soon. |
![]() DEWALT DEWALT 60V MAX Cordless Chainsaw, 18 in., Tool Only (DCCS672B) |
DW 60V 18IN CHAINSAW BARE | $289.52 |
#67 in Chainsaws |
Only 13 left in stock – order soon. |
![]() Skil SKIL PWR CORE 20 Brushless 20V 12'' Handheld Lightweight Chainsaw Kit with Too |
CORDLESS CHAINSAW KIT- Includes PWR CORE 20 Brushless 20V 12-Inch Chainsaw, 4.0Ah Lithium-Ion B | $119.00 $189.99 |
#295 in Chainsaws |
37% OFF Prime Exclusive In Stock |
![]() Seesii Seesii Mini Chainsaw, 6-inch Mini Chainsaw Cordless, Handheld Electric Power C |
POWERFUL & SMOOTH CUTTING: SEESII mini chainsaw is equipped with a powerful 900W motor and a pr | $33.29 $39.99 |
#1 in Chainsaws |
17% OFF Prime Exclusive In Stock |
The picks, reviewed one by one
Rankings weigh real cutting capacity, owner track record, total cost with batteries, and the job each saw is actually sized for – with the current category best seller at the top, examined honestly rather than repeated blindly.
1. Seesii 6-Inch Mini Chainsaw: the category’s #1 Best Seller
The Seesii Mini Chainsaw, 6-inch Mini Chainsaw Cordless, Handheld Electric Power Chain Saw with 2 Batteries, for Tree Trimming Wood Cutting, Best Gifts for Father, Dad, Husband, Men lists at $33.29 on Amazon right now. This is the current #1 Best Seller in Amazon’s Power Chain Saws category – verified on the live chart and through the product API’s category sales rank, not copied from a badge. It averages 4.4 out of 5 from 127 ratings.
What we like: it is the current #1 Best Seller in Amazon’s Power Chain Saws category, verified on the live chart and through the product API. A 2.7-pound, one-handed package that customers say cuts ‘through trees like a hot knife through butter’ on small yard projects. And two 21V 2,000mAh batteries in the box, with owners reporting the battery life ‘exceeds expectations’. The listing spec: a 6-inch bar, 2.7 pounds, two 21V 2,000mAh packs.
Who should not buy it: Skip the Seesii if your job is storm cleanup or firewood – a 6-inch bar is for limbs, saplings, and pruning cuts. Its #1 rank reflects how many people buy it for exactly that small job, not a verdict against the full-size saws below.
Flaws but not dealbreakers: the mini class has no stated cut-count spec (we checked the listing rather than guessing), one-handed use trades away kickback control margin, and its 4.4 average comes from a young 127-rating base.
2. EGO Power+ CS1810 18-inch: the full-size value pick
The EGO POWER+ Chain Saw, 18″ Battery Powered Chainsaw, Electric Cordless, Battery and Charger Not Included – CS1810 lists at $239.99 on Amazon right now. It averages 5.0 from 63 ratings – a young but perfect record on a tool-only listing.
What we like: an 18-inch bar with a 50cc-gas-equivalent 2,500W brushless motor at chain speeds up to 22 m/s. $239.99 is the cheapest entry into EGO’s 18-inch platform, and EGO batteries span mowers, blowers, and trimmers. And TechGearLab’s separate EGO CS1800 testing (the near-identical 16-inch platform sibling) scored Saw Performance 9.0/10 and named its family Best Bang for the Buck. The listing spec: a 18-inch bar, 10.1 pounds, 56V battery and charger NOT included. Rated for up to 330 cuts on a 4×4 with a 56V 6.0Ah battery (EGO’s claim).
Who should not buy it: First-time EGO buyer? Price the kit version before clicking – with a battery and charger the true cost lands near $400, at which point the Greenworks kit below is the better deal.
Flaws but not dealbreakers: tool-only means your real cost is $150-plus higher with a 56V pack, and the listing’s 330-cut claim assumes the big 6.0Ah battery most garages do not already own. EGO’s 5.0 average here rests on just 63 ratings.
3. Greenworks 60V 18-inch kit: the complete-kit pick
The Greenworks 60V 18 in Cordless Electric Chainsaw, 4.0 Ah Battery and Charger lists at $309.99 on Amazon right now. It averages 4.0 out of 5 from 2,169 ratings.
What we like: a genuine all-in-one kit: 60V 4.0Ah battery and charger included at $309.99, 23% off the $399.99 list. Greenworks claims 20% more torque than a 40cc gas saw with a 2.0kW-max brushless motor. And customers report it ‘performs as well as their old gas chainsaw’ with fast recharges (one owner measured 75% in 45 minutes). The listing spec: a 18-inch bar, n/a (listing states 4.3 kg without battery) pounds, 4.0Ah 60V battery AND charger included. Rated for up to 110 cuts on 4×4 wood per charge (Greenworks’ claim).
Who should not buy it: Do not buy the Greenworks kit if you already own EGO’s 56V platform – the EGO tool-only at $239.99 with batteries you own beats $309.99 plus duplicate chargers every time.
Flaws but not dealbreakers: the 4.0 average from 2,169 ratings includes mixed durability reports typical of the value tier, the 110-cut claim is modest against EGO’s numbers, and the 60V platform has fewer sibling tools than EGO’s.
4. EGO Power+ CS1611 16-inch kit: the proven mid-size
The EGO POWER+ Chain Saw, 16” Battery Powered Chainsaw, Electric Cordless, Includes 56V 2.5Ah Battery and Charger – CS1611 lists at $249.00 on Amazon right now. It averages 4.6 out of 5 from 2,031 ratings – the deepest proven record on a full-size saw in this guide.
What we like: the deepest owner record on a full-size saw in our slate: 4.6 out of 5 across 2,031 ratings. A genuine kit – 56V 2.5Ah battery and charger included at $249.00 – from the brand TechGearLab rates highest for saw performance. And customers call it a ‘workhorse’ and report 80-100 cuts of 4-6 inch logs per charge in real use. The listing spec: a 16-inch bar, 9 pounds, 56V 2.5Ah battery AND charger included. Rated for up to 130 cuts on a 4×4 with the included 2.5Ah battery (EGO’s claim).
Who should not buy it: Skip the CS1611 if you routinely cut 12-inch-plus hardwood – you want the 18-inch 50cc-class power of the CS1810, not the mid-size platform.
Flaws but not dealbreakers: the 2.5Ah battery caps runtime on big cuts, 130 cuts is a best-case claim, and at $249.00 kit pricing it gives up nothing to the tool-only CS1810 except bar length and torque.
5. RYOBI 40V 16-inch brushless: the gas-replacement value
The 16 in. 40-Volt Lithium-Ion Brushless Electric Cordless Chainsaw (Tool Only) lists at $299.99 on Amazon right now. It averages 4.4 out of 5 across a 15,511-rating base, the largest in our slate.
What we like: 15,511 ratings deep – by far the largest owner base in our slate – averaging 4.4 out of 5. Customers ‘amazed at its power’ report it rivals similar-bar-size gas saws, with easy starts and no pull cord. And works with every RYOBI 40V battery, the widest cross-tool battery family in the yard aisle. The listing spec: a 16-inch bar, 11.6 pounds, 40V battery NOT included (tool only).
Who should not buy it: RYOBI battery newcomer, do the math first: a 4Ah 40V pack and charger push the real total near $400-450, which crosses into kit-priced territory from other brands.
Flaws but not dealbreakers: the shared-widget risk applies to its rating count (our extraction flagged a duplicate count on another listing, so we state 15,511 with that caveat), stock was down to 3 units at verification, and tool-only pricing stings for new-to-40V buyers.
6. DEWALT 60V FlexVolt 18-inch: the pro-platform pick
The DEWALT 60V MAX Cordless Chainsaw, 18 in., Tool Only (DCCS672B) lists at $289.52 on Amazon right now. It averages 4.2 out of 5 from 851 ratings.
What we like: an 18-inch bar on DEWALT’s 60V FlexVolt pro platform, at $289.52 the cheapest route into it. Customers say it ‘performs like a gas-powered 18-inch saw’ with good balance and relatively light weight. And FlexVolt batteries cross-work across DEWALT’s 60V and 20V tool lines – one battery family for the whole site. The listing spec: a 18-inch bar, n/a (bare tool; the 60V platform runs 12-13 lb class) pounds, 60V FlexVolt battery NOT included.
Who should not buy it: Not a DEWALT owner? Skip the bare tool – after a FlexVolt battery you are at $450-plus, where the Greenworks complete kit makes more sense. Buy it to expand an existing FlexVolt fleet.
Flaws but not dealbreakers: the 4.2 average includes the usual bare-tool gripes (battery and chain oil sold separately, some shipping-damage reports), DEWALT states no cut-count spec, and stock was 13 units at verification.
7. Skil PWR CORE 20 12-inch kit: the budget bookend
The SKIL PWR CORE 20 Brushless 20V 12” Handheld Lightweight Chainsaw Kit with Tool-free Chain Tension & Auto Lubrication, Includes 4.0Ah Battery and Charger-CS4562B-10 lists at $119.00 on Amazon right now. It carries a solid four-plus-star record on the listing.
What we like: a complete brushless kit – tool, 4.0Ah battery, charger – at $119.00, 37% off its $189.99 list. Customers report it cuts through 3-4 inch limbs easily and that it ‘paid for itself after one project’. And tool-free chain tensioning, auto-lubrication, and an anti-kickback brake at a price point that usually buys none of them. The listing spec: a 12-inch bar, 9.9 (with 4.0Ah battery) pounds, 20V 4.0Ah battery AND charger included.
Who should not buy it: Do not buy the Skil as your only saw for storm cleanup – the 12-inch bar and lighter chain are for pruning and small rounds. As a second, grab-and-go saw, it is superb.
Flaws but not dealbreakers: it is the heaviest 12-inch-class saw here at 9.9 pounds with battery, the review count we extracted showed a shared-widget inconsistency (so we state it softly: a solid four-plus-star record), and 20V runtime means sparser cutting between charges.
Power and runtime: what voltage and amp-hours actually buy
Battery chainsaw marketing runs on two numbers – volts and amp-hours – and both are routinely misread. Voltage is the platform class: 20V saws are limbing tools, 40V covers 14-16-inch homeowner work, and 56-80V platforms rival gas in the 16-18-inch class. Amp-hours is your fuel tank: doubling amp-hours roughly doubles cuts per charge at the same power draw. The table below lays out each pick’s platform math from its own listing.
| Model | Bar | Battery | Price | Brand-rated cuts |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Seesii 6-inch Mini | 6 in | 2 packs included | $33.29 | not stated by the brand – this class is for pruning, not felling |
| EGO Power+ CS1810 (18-inch, tool only) | 18 in | NOT included (+$150-ish for 56V) | $239.99 | up to 330 cuts on a 4×4 with a 56V 6.0Ah battery (EGO’s claim) |
| Greenworks 60V 18-inch kit (4.0Ah) | 18 in | included (60V 4.0Ah) | $309.99 | up to 110 cuts on 4×4 wood per charge (Greenworks’ claim) |
| EGO Power+ CS1611 (16-inch kit, 2.5Ah) | 16 in | included (56V 2.5Ah) | $249.00 | up to 130 cuts on a 4×4 with the included 2.5Ah battery (EGO’s claim) |
| RYOBI 40V 16-inch brushless (tool only) | 16 in | NOT included (40V pack + charger) | $299.99 | not stated by the brand |
| DEWALT 60V FlexVolt DCCS672B (18-inch, tool only) | 18 in | NOT included (60V FlexVolt) | $289.52 | not stated by the brand |
| Skil PWR CORE 20 CS4562B-10 (12-inch kit) | 12 in | included (20V 4.0Ah) | $119.00 | not stated by the brand |
Read the battery column before the price column: three of our seven picks ship tool-only, and the real spread between the $239.99 EGO and the $309.99 Greenworks kit is negative once you price a 56V pack. The cut-count column is brand-rated, not lab-measured – we label it that way because the brands measure differently (EGO’s 330-cut claim assumes a 6.0Ah pack the tool-only listing does not include).
Failure modes: what actually breaks, per owner reports
We mined the ‘Customers say’ summaries on every listing. Battery chainsaws fail in a small number of predictable ways, and each pick carries a different risk profile:
- Battery/charging – the mini class: the Seesii’s record is largely positive, but mini-saw 1-star themes across the class include packs that will not hold charge after storage. Two included batteries mitigate it; store them at half charge.
- Chain tension – RYOBI 40V: the side-access tensioner is praised, but large-sample RYOBI records include chain-derailed and tension-drift complaints on hard cuts. Check tension every tank-stop equivalent – about every 15 minutes of cutting.
- Oiling – Skil PWR CORE 20: auto-oilers on budget saws are the most common warranty item in customer records; keep the reservoir full and run the bar oiler check before long jobs.
- Power dip under load – value-tier 60V: a minority of Greenworks owners report the motor bogging in hardwood as the battery sags – normal battery behavior, but it reads as failure if you bought it expecting gas torque to the last cut.
- Bare-tool surprises – DEWALT and EGO tool-only: the recurring complaint is not the saw but the box – ‘chain oil sold separately’, ‘battery not included’. Budget the pack before the saw arrives.
- No pattern yet: the EGO CS1611’s 2,031-rating record is the cleanest in the slate – no systemic failure theme surfaced in the summary data we decoded.
Gas vs. battery: the honest decision guide
Buy battery if your cuts happen in bursts under 30 minutes, you hate maintenance, or you store the saw where fumes matter. TechGearLab’s test data puts today’s top battery saws within reach of mid-size gas on cutting speed – their overall battery winner earned a perfect 10.0 Saw Performance score – and every owner quote we decoded for the picks above confirms the pattern on real property.
Stay with gas if you fell trees professionally, cut all day from a truck, or need instant refuel-and-go in the back forty. Batteries trade runtime for maintenance-free starts, and a second pack costs more than a jug of mix. The honest middle: battery as the primary homeowner saw, gas (or nothing) as the storm-season backup – and for most suburban lots, nothing.
Safety: what the extension services insist on
Cordless does not mean casual. Mississippi State University Extension calls the chainsaw ‘one of the most dangerous tools a person can buy’ and its guidance applies to battery saws the same as gas: read the manual, wear appropriate safety equipment, never cut alone, and keep children and pets at a safe distance. Fatigue, they note, ‘is your enemy’ – rest restores the balance and grip that kickback situations punish.
Mississippi State also reminds owners to carry the saw with the engine stopped and the bar to the rear – with a battery saw, that means removing the pack before walking anywhere, because a triggered throttle on a 2.7-pound mini is a face-level hazard. The CDC’s disaster-cleanup guidance adds the same storm-cleanup rules for chain saw work: watch for downed power lines, cut at waist level or below, and take extra breaks. Every pick above carries a chain brake; the Skil and RYOBI explicitly advertise anti-kickback systems, and the Seesii adds a double safety lock – but none of that replaces gloves, eye protection, and chained chaps on anything bigger than the mini.
Where we disagree with the big testers
Our anchor is the Seesii 6-inch mini – the verified #1 Best Seller in Amazon’s Power Chain Saws category – while TechGearLab’s 12-saw battery test hands Best Overall to the EGO Power+ CS2005 with a perfect 10.0 Saw Performance score and names the EGO CS1800 Best Bang for the Buck. Both calls are defensible, and the gap between them is worth explaining rather than papering over.
First, the shopping-reality argument: this guide serves readers who buy on Amazon, and Amazon’s own chart has voted the Seesii #1 by an overwhelming purchase margin. Second, job-matching: TGL’s winners are 16-20-inch property saws – the same class as our EGO and Greenworks picks – while the category’s #1 is a pruning mini; the disagreement is partly a definitional one about what ‘best’ means for the median buyer, and the median buyer is trimming trees, not felling them. Third, we concede what TGL measured: on raw cutting speed and build, the EGO platform is objectively superior, which is why our full-size value pick is an EGO and our upgrade path runs through EGO’s ecosystem. The honest synthesis: the Seesii is the people’s pick for the small job most people actually do; the EGO CS1810 is the enthusiast’s pick for the job people imagine doing. Our #2 slot respects that.
We also disagree with the testers’ price framing on one point: TechGearLab’s bang-for-the-buck call assumes kit pricing, but Amazon’s tool-only EGO listings change that math entirely – which is why our kit-versus-tool-only table above is the most important part of this guide. And we flag our own uncertainty on the record: the RYOBI’s 15,511-rating count showed a shared-widget inconsistency in our extraction, so we state it softly rather than lean on it.
How we chose
Our process is documented step by step in How We Test & Choose Products. In short: we pulled live pricing, availability, category best-seller ranks, and listing specs for every unit through Amazon’s product API on October 7, 2026; read each product page’s full feature set; decoded the ‘Customers say’ review summaries for praise and failure patterns; and cross-checked picks against independent testers and university safety guidance. We do not operate a cutting lab – we say so plainly: the hands-on verdicts cited here belong to TechGearLab’s test team, the safety guidance to Mississippi State University Extension and the CDC, and everything else is our own listing and review-record analysis. Amazon #1 Best Seller status was verified through the product API’s category sales rank and the live Best Sellers chart, not taken from a badge. Prices move; the tables are a same-day snapshot. If your yard work extends beyond cutting, our guides to the best portable generators for power outages, the best garage heaters, and the best electric fireplaces cover the rest of a storm-ready property.
Key sources: TechGearLab – 12-saw battery chainsaw lab test (purchased at retail, tree-service-verified) behind our EGO performance claims; Mississippi State University Extension – chain saw safety guidance (PPE, never cut alone, fatigue); U.S. CDC – storm-cleanup chain saw safety rules (title-cited; page blocks automated access).
Frequently asked questions
What size cordless chainsaw do I need?
Match the bar to the wood, not the fantasy: 6 inches for pruning (the Seesii), 12 inches for limbs and small rounds (the Skil), 16 inches for homeowner firewood and storm cleanup (the RYOBI and EGO CS1611), and 18 inches for regular firewood processing and mid-size felling (the EGO CS1810, Greenworks 60V, and DEWALT 60V). A bar longer than the wood you actually cut is dead weight and extra chain to sharpen.
Are battery chainsaws as powerful as gas?
At the 16-18-inch homeowner class, effectively yes – EGO rates its 18-inch at 50cc-gas-equivalent with chain speeds up to 22 m/s, Greenworks claims 20% more torque than a 40cc gas saw, and TechGearLab’s lab testing awarded its top battery saw a perfect 10.0 Saw Performance score. Pro-grade gas still wins all-day runtime and refuel speed; for bursts of suburban cutting, battery is now the better tool.
Why do some listings cost more with a battery and some without?
Tool-only listings strip the battery and charger to advertise a lower price – three of our seven picks are tool-only. Before comparing prices, check the battery column in our table: a $239.99 tool-only EGO becomes roughly a $400 saw with a 56V pack, while the Greenworks and EGO kit picks include the battery and charger in the sticker price.
How long does a battery chainsaw run per charge?
Plan on real-work figures, not brochure math: a 2.5Ah 56V pack is rated for up to 130 four-by-four cuts (EGO’s claim) and customers report 80-100 cuts of 4-6 inch logs; the 4.0Ah Greenworks 60V claims 110 cuts; a 20V Skil limbing all day wants a spare pack. Cutting hardwood at full throttle can halve these numbers – buy amp-hours, not volts, when runtime is the worry.
Are mini chainsaws like the Seesii actually useful?
For what they are built for – pruning limbs, saplings, and one-handed cleanup – yes, and the category’s purchase data agrees: the Seesii is the #1 Best Seller in Amazon’s Power Chain Saws category with a 4.4 average. Just do not ask a 6-inch bar to fell the tree the limbing saw came from; every tool in this guide earns its slot by being sized honestly to a job.
The bottom line: the Seesii 6-inch mini at $33.29 is the category’s #1 Best Seller for pruning-sized jobs – and an honest one at that. For real firewood and storm work, the EGO CS1810 18-inch at $239.99 is the full-size value play if you already own EGO batteries, the Greenworks 60V kit at $309.99 is the complete-kit pick for everyone else, and the EGO CS1611 at $249.00 is the proven middle with the deepest owner record in the slate. The Skil at $119.00 makes the best second saw in the group – and the first saw for small properties.



