Join Amazon Prime — free fast delivery, Prime Video, and early access to deals.Join PrimeAffiliate link. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Best EV Chargers on Amazon in 2026: 8 Level 2 Picks

A hardwired or plug-in Level 2 charger is the single best upgrade you can make to an EV owner’s routine, and we compared the best EV chargers on Amazon for 2026 across price, amperage, certification, and the failure patterns hidden in thousands of owner reviews. Every pick below is live, in stock at publish time, and priced from the Amazon buy box – and every one is a J1772 unit that works with Ford, Chevrolet, Hyundai, Kia, VW, Rivian, and any other non-Tesla EV sold with a J1772 port (Tesla drivers need the adapter that ships with the car).

Affiliate disclosure: As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. We earn commission from qualifying purchases made through links on this page. This never affects our rankings or what we recommend.

The 8 best EV chargers on Amazon for 2026: a Level 2 home charging station mounted in a residential garage

What’s in this guide

The 8 best EV chargers on Amazon at a glance

Here is the full slate in one table – live Amazon pricing, the standout spec from each listing, the unit’s best-seller rank in Amazon’s EV Charging Stations category, and current deal status. Full reviews below.

The 8 best EV chargers on Amazon right now (prices checked 2026-10-07)
ProductStandout specPriceTrack recordDeal
ChargePoint ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 EV Fast Charger, J1772, Smart, Hardwired, 50A
ChargePoint
ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 EV Fast Charger, J1772, Smart, Hardwired, 50A
Charge with Confidence: ChargePoint builds reliable, flexible EV charging stations for home, bu
$549.00
#1 in Charging Stations
In Stock
EVIQO EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger J1772 48A - Hardwired 240V Wall Charging Station
EVIQO
EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger J1772 48A – Hardwired 240V Wall Charging Station
WORKS WITH EVERY NON-TESLA EV: Standard J1772 connector plugs straight into Ford, Chevrolet, Hy
$407.15
$510.00
#2 in Charging Stations
20% OFF
Prime Exclusive
In Stock
EMPORIA EMPORIA Pro Level 2 EV Charger with PowerSmart - 48 amp Fast EV Charger for Home with Hardwire and J17
EMPORIA
EMPORIA Pro Level 2 EV Charger with PowerSmart – 48 amp Fast EV Charger for Ho
Fast Charging Without Upgrades: Overcome limited electricity service and charge at the maximum
$599.00
#5 in Charging Stations
In Stock
Grizzl-E Grizzl-E Classic, Level 2 240V / 40A Electric Vehicle (EV) Charger, UL Certified, Metal Case Enclosur
Grizzl-E
Grizzl-E Classic, Level 2 240V / 40A Electric Vehicle (EV) Charger, UL Certifi
Grizzl-E Classic NEMA 14-50 Plug with 24 Feet Premium Cable is a simple, powerful, heavy-duty a
$299.99
$399.00
#11 in Charging Stations
25% OFF
Only 11 left in stock – order soon.
Autel Autel Level 2 EV Charger up to 50Amp, 240V, Indoor/Outdoor Car Charging Station with J1772 Connector, Wi
Autel
Autel Level 2 EV Charger up to 50Amp, 240V, Indoor/Outdoor Car Charging Statio
【Trusted Brand】Autel has been making automotive intelligent diagnostic, inspection, and analysi
$423.99
$569.00
#22 in Charging Stations
25% OFF
Prime Exclusive
In Stock
Wallbox Wallbox Pulsar Plus Level 2 Ev Charger 48A, Electric Car Charger EVSE J1772
Wallbox
Wallbox Pulsar Plus Level 2 Ev Charger 48A, Electric Car Charger EVSE J1772
FAST CHARGING: Pulsar Plus EV Charger is 9x faster than portable basic chargers, providing up t
$583.99
$799.99
#95 in Charging Stations
27% OFF
Prime Exclusive
Lectron Lectron J1772 Level 2 EV Charger, UL2594 Certified (ETL Listed), 48A 240V Nexus EV Charging Station, 2
Lectron
Lectron J1772 Level 2 EV Charger, UL2594 Certified (ETL Listed), 48A 240V Nexu
FAST LEVEL 2 CHARGING UP TO 46 MILES PER HOUR – Delivers up to 48 amps at 240V (11.5 kW) for up
$429.99
#24 in Charging Stations
In Stock
EVDANCE EVDANCE Level 2 EV Charger 40Amp, 240V 9.6KW Portable Electric Vehicle Charging Stations with NEMA 14-
EVDANCE
EVDANCE Level 2 EV Charger 40Amp, 240V 9.6KW Portable Electric Vehicle Chargin
⚡ Fast, Flexible Charging You Control- Equipped with a NEMA 14-50 plug and adjustable current (
$199.98
#45 in Charging Stations
In Stock
Prices and stock verified 2026-10-07 via Amazon’s product API · as an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

The picks, reviewed one by one

Rankings weigh amperage per dollar, safety certification, install flexibility, and the complaint pattern in each unit’s own review section. The #1 Best Seller leads the list for a reason we explain honestly below – not just because Amazon says so.

1. ChargePoint HomeFlex: the best seller that earns it

ChargePoint ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 EV Fast Charger, J1772, Smart, Hardwired, 50A
ChargePoint
ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 EV Fast Charger, J1772, Smart, Hardwired, 50A
$549.00
#1 best seller in Charging Stations
In Stock
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

The ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 EV Fast Charger, J1772, Smart, Hardwired, 50A lists at $549.00 on Amazon right now. It carries a 4.3-out-of-5 average from roughly 2309 ratings. This is the current #1 Best Seller in Amazon’s EV Charging Stations category, verified on the live chart, and it is also the runner-up overall pick in CNET’s long-running EV charger guide.

What we like: a replaceable connector and cable, so a worn cable does not retire the whole unit. CNET also notes CNET calls it ‘extremely compact’ and rates it up to 50A on a 60A circuit. And CNET rates it is the current #1 Best Seller in Amazon’s EV Charging Stations category with a multi-year retail track record. On charging speed, customer reports on the listing line up with the spec: owners describe fast charging up to 80% and a cord that reaches across a two-car garage.

Who should not buy it: Skip the HomeFlex if you want plug-in portability – it is hardwired-only – or if smart features matter more than build pedigree, because the app’s WiFi reliability is the recurring complaint in its own review section.

Flaws but not dealbreakers: at $549.00 it is the priciest box here, it is hardwired-only, and the customer-review pattern on WiFi connection failures plus some early unit deaths is real – budget for a possible warranty swap within the first month.

2. EVIQO 48A: the value pick for hardwired installs

EVIQO EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger J1772 48A - Hardwired 240V Wall Charging Station
EVIQOPrime Exclusive
EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger J1772 48A – Hardwired 240V Wall Charging Station
$407.1520% OFF$510.00
#2 best seller in Charging Stations
In Stock
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

The EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger J1772 48A – Hardwired 240V Wall Charging Station lists at $407.15 on Amazon right now, down 20% from a $510.00 list price. It carries a 4.7-out-of-5 average from roughly 2145 ratings.

What we like: full 48A output on a dedicated 60A circuit for $407.15, 20% off its $510.00 list. The listing also notes an extra-long 25-foot cable that the listing says easily reaches across a garage or driveway. And owners describe a unit that is well-made, easy to install, and ‘works right out of the box’. On charging speed, customer reports on the listing line up with the spec: one owner reports 20-to-100% in no more than 8 hours.

Who should not buy it: Do not buy the EVIQO if your electrician can only land a 40A or 50A circuit – you will never use its 48A rating – or if you need an outdoor-rated, plug-in unit today.

Flaws but not dealbreakers: the 50A DIP mode demands a 70A circuit most homes do not have, and mixed feedback on connectivity appears in the review record even though the overall pattern is positive.

3. Emporia Pro: the load-management upgrade

EMPORIA EMPORIA Pro Level 2 EV Charger with PowerSmart - 48 amp Fast EV Charger for Home with Hardwire and J1772 Connect
EMPORIA
EMPORIA Pro Level 2 EV Charger with PowerSmart – 48 amp Fast EV Charger for Home with Hardwire and J1772 Connector – 240v Electric Vehicle Charging Station and 25' EV Charging Cable
$599.00
#5 best seller in Charging Stations
In Stock
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

The EMPORIA Pro Level 2 EV Charger with PowerSmart – 48 amp Fast EV Charger for Home with Hardwire and J1772 Connector – 240v Electric Vehicle Charging Station and 25′ EV Charging Cable lists at $599.00 on Amazon right now. It carries a 4.8-out-of-5 average from roughly 69 ratings – a thin record we flag again below. MotorTrend’s tester, who has charged more than 100 EVs on a dozen chargers, named the Emporia Pro the winner of a 2026 MotorTrend Best Tech Award and uses it as his own upgrade pick.

What we like: MotorTrend gave it a 2026 Best Tech Award and measured its cable at 24 feet 8 inches, the longest they tested. The listing also notes PowerSmart load balancing watches your whole panel through the included Vue energy monitor and throttles charging before the main breaker trips. And it can be configured to charge only when your solar panels produce surplus power. On charging speed, customer reports on the listing line up with the spec: owners cite fast overnight charging and seamless integration with the Emporia Vue monitor.

Who should not buy it: Pass on the Emporia Pro unless you actually need load management – homes with modest panels, solar, or EVs plus electric heat – because without PowerSmart doing work, you are paying an award premium over the EVIQO.

Flaws but not dealbreakers: it costs a $200 premium over equally-fast 48A rivals, MotorTrend notes you cannot coil the cord around the tapered wall box, and with only about 69 Amazon ratings the retail track record is still short.

4. Grizzl-E Classic: the rugged budget tank

Grizzl-E Grizzl-E Classic, Level 2 240V / 40A Electric Vehicle (EV) Charger, UL Certified, Metal Case Enclosure, Indoor/
Grizzl-E
Grizzl-E Classic, Level 2 240V / 40A Electric Vehicle (EV) Charger, UL Certified, Metal Case Enclosure, Indoor/Outdoor Electric Car Fast Wall Charging Station, NEMA 14-50 Plug, Classic Black
$299.9925% OFF$399.00
#11 best seller in Charging Stations
Only 11 left in stock – order soon.
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

The Grizzl-E Classic, Level 2 240V / 40A Electric Vehicle (EV) Charger, UL Certified, Metal Case Enclosure, Indoor/Outdoor Electric Car Fast Wall Charging Station, NEMA 14-50 Plug, Classic Black lists at $299.99 on Amazon right now, down 25% from a $399.00 list price. It carries a 4.6-out-of-5 average from roughly 3441 ratings. CNET tapped the Grizzl-E Classic as their value charger ‘especially if it’s going outdoors’, praising its rugged construction and simple design that avoids software issues.

What we like: UL Certified with a metal case enclosure, rated for indoor and outdoor use. CNET also notes $299.99, 25% off its $399.00 list – the cheapest UL-certified wall unit in our slate. And CNET rates CNET picked it as their value charger especially for outdoor installs, citing rugged construction. On charging speed, customer reports on the listing line up with the spec: one owner charges a Mustang Mach-E in about 4 hours.

Who should not buy it: Do not buy the Grizzl-E Classic if you want app control, scheduling, or any smart feature – there are none – or if you need more than 40A, since that is its hard ceiling.

Flaws but not dealbreakers: it is plug-in-only and totally offline – no app, no WiFi, no scheduling – it tops out at 40A, and roughly 3,400 ratings carry a real split on long-term durability.

5. Autel MaxiCharger: the app bargain at 50A

Autel Autel Level 2 EV Charger up to 50Amp, 240V, Indoor/Outdoor Car Charging Station with J1772 Connector, Wi-Fi and Bl
AutelPrime Exclusive
Autel Level 2 EV Charger up to 50Amp, 240V, Indoor/Outdoor Car Charging Station with J1772 Connector, Wi-Fi and Bluetooth Enabled EVSE, 25-Foot Cable, Hardwired, Dark Gray
$423.9925% OFF$569.00
#22 best seller in Charging Stations
In Stock
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

The Autel Level 2 EV Charger up to 50Amp, 240V, Indoor/Outdoor Car Charging Station with J1772 Connector, Wi-Fi and Bluetooth Enabled EVSE, 25-Foot Cable, Hardwired, Dark Gray lists at $423.99 on Amazon right now, down 25% from a $569.00 list price. It carries a 4.4-out-of-5 average from roughly 1258 ratings.

What we like: up to 50A output in a hardwired install for $423.99, 25% off its $569.00 list. The listing also notes MotorTrend praises Autel’s free app – tested on the brand’s AC Lite model – for looking and feeling ‘as if it were created by Apple’, with spreadsheet-exportable charging history. And 25-foot cable, Wi-Fi and Bluetooth, indoor/outdoor rating. On charging speed, customer reports on the listing line up with the spec: one customer takes a Wrangler 4xe from 20 to 80% in under 4 hours.

Who should not buy it: Skip the Autel if your garage WiFi is already flaky – the mixed connectivity reports suggest you will fight it – or if you want a plug-in unit, because this configuration is hardwired-only.

Flaws but not dealbreakers: the connectivity split in its review record is the main risk, charging is limited by your panel and circuit as with any 50A hardwired unit, and there is no NACS option for newer Tesla-port vehicles.

6. Wallbox Pulsar Plus: the compact smart charger

Wallbox Wallbox Pulsar Plus Level 2 Ev Charger 48A, Electric Car Charger EVSE J1772
WallboxPrime Exclusive
Wallbox Pulsar Plus Level 2 Ev Charger 48A, Electric Car Charger EVSE J1772
$583.9927% OFF$799.99
#95 best seller in Charging Stations
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

The Wallbox Pulsar Plus Level 2 Ev Charger 48A, Electric Car Charger EVSE J1772 lists at $583.99 on Amazon right now, down 27% from a $799.99 list price. It carries a 4.2-out-of-5 average from roughly 1069 ratings.

What we like: a small, unobtrusive wall box that owners describe as good-looking, with adjustable amperage from 6 to 40A. The listing also notes 27% off – $583.99 against a $799.99 list, the deepest discount in our slate. And an app that supports charging schedules, electricity pricing entry, and energy tracking. On charging speed, customer reports on the listing line up with the spec: owners report 20-80% in about 8 hours with adjustable amperage from 6 to 40A.

Who should not buy it: Do not buy the Pulsar Plus if your install spot has poor WiFi signal and you want cloud features to actually work – the failure-to-connect reports are too common to ignore – or if you want maximum amperage for the dollar.

Flaws but not dealbreakers: WiFi and Bluetooth reliability is the recurring complaint in its roughly 1,070 ratings – many owners report it fails to connect – and even fans note you are paying $583.99 for a 48A ceiling that the EVIQO delivers for $177 less.

7. Lectron Nexus: the certified 48A dark horse

Lectron Lectron J1772 Level 2 EV Charger, UL2594 Certified (ETL Listed), 48A 240V Nexus EV Charging Station, 23ft Cable
Lectron
Lectron J1772 Level 2 EV Charger, UL2594 Certified (ETL Listed), 48A 240V Nexus EV Charging Station, 23ft Cable & J1772 Charger Holder, Hardwired ONLY, Compatible with All J1772 Electric Vehicles
$429.99
#24 best seller in Charging Stations
In Stock
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

The Lectron J1772 Level 2 EV Charger, UL2594 Certified (ETL Listed), 48A 240V Nexus EV Charging Station, 23ft Cable & J1772 Charger Holder, Hardwired ONLY, Compatible with All J1772 Electric Vehicles lists at $429.99 on Amazon right now. It carries a 4.8-out-of-5 average from roughly 30 ratings – a thin record we flag again below.

What we like: UL 2594 certified (ETL Listed) – the safety certification the DOE recommends looking for. The listing also notes 48A hardwired output at $429.99, with a 23-foot cable and a charger holder included. And only about 30 ratings, but every signal so far is 4.8-out-of-5 positive. On charging speed, customer reports on the listing line up with the spec: the listing is ETL Listed to UL 2594, the exact safety standard the DOE says to look for.

Who should not buy it: Skip the Lectron Nexus if you need an established track record for peace of mind – three dozen ratings is not a history – or if you want a plug-in model, since this is hardwired-only.

Flaws but not dealbreakers: with roughly 30 ratings there is no meaningful failure-mode record yet, no customer-summary data to mine, and no discount cushion at the $429.99 price.

8. EVDANCE 40A: the portable under-$200 entry

EVDANCE EVDANCE Level 2 EV Charger 40Amp, 240V 9.6KW Portable Electric Vehicle Charging Stations with NEMA 14-50P, 25FT
EVDANCE
EVDANCE Level 2 EV Charger 40Amp, 240V 9.6KW Portable Electric Vehicle Charging Stations with NEMA 14-50P, 25FT Cable Adjustable Current/Timing Delay Home Electric Car Charger for J1772 BEVs/PHEVs
$199.98
#45 best seller in Charging Stations
In Stock
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

The EVDANCE Level 2 EV Charger 40Amp, 240V 9.6KW Portable Electric Vehicle Charging Stations with NEMA 14-50P, 25FT Cable Adjustable Current/Timing Delay Home Electric Car Charger for J1772 BEVs/PHEVs lists at $199.98 on Amazon right now. It carries a 4.5-out-of-5 average from roughly 137 ratings.

What we like: $199.98 makes it the cheapest way into real 40A, 9.6 kW Level 2 charging. The listing also notes a portable NEMA 14-50 plug-in design with a 25-foot cable, adjustable current from 10 to 40A and a timing delay. And owners report Mustang Mach-E charges from 20% to 80% in about five hours. On charging speed, customer reports on the listing line up with the spec: one owner measured 8.7 kW delivered on a 60A circuit.

Who should not buy it: Do not buy the EVDANCE as your primary garage charger if you have a large battery and hardwire-ready panel – its 40A ceiling and portable design are for flexibility, not maximum speed.

Flaws but not dealbreakers: it is the least documented brand in our slate with no certification claims in the listing, the 40A ceiling is 8-10 kW not 11.5 kW, and a portable unit you unplug is a unit a visitor can walk off with.

Spec truth: price per delivered amp

Amperage is what you actually pay for in an EVSE – the car’s onboard charger, not the wall unit, limits real-world speed for most EVs. Divide price by maximum output and the market sorts cleanly. Circuit requirements follow the NEC’s continuous-load rule explained below: a 48A charger needs a 60A dedicated circuit; the Autel’s 50A circuit figure is not stated on its listing.

Price per delivered amp, ranked best to worst (prices checked 2026-10-07)
ModelMax outputCircuit neededPrice$/amp
ChargePoint50A60A$549.00$10.98/amp
Eviqo48A60A$407.15$8.48/amp
Emporia48A60A$599.00$12.48/amp
Grizzl-E40A50A plug (NEMA 14-50)$299.99$7.50/amp
Autel50Anot stated$423.99$8.48/amp
Wallbox48A60A$583.99$12.17/amp
Lectron48A60A$429.99$8.96/amp
Evdance40A50A plug (NEMA 14-50)$199.98$5.00/amp

The Grizzl-E Classic wins the raw math at $7.50 per amp, and the EVDANCE undercuts everything at $5.00 per amp – but notice what happens above the $400 line: the EVIQO and Autel both land at about $8.48 per amp while the ChargePoint, Emporia, and Wallbox cluster at $10.98-$12.48. That gap is not charging speed. It is design, certifications, networking, and brand – useful things, but you should know that is what the extra $150 is buying.

What your money buys at each price tier

Under $300 (EVDANCE $199.98, Grizzl-E $299.99): plug-in flexibility and honest 40A charging. This is the right tier for renters, secondary vehicles, and anyone who wants to move the charger between garage and driveway. What you give up: smart scheduling, load management, and the 48-50A ceiling. The Grizzl-E is the tier’s exception – UL Certified, metal-encased, and outdoor-rated, which is why it ranks fifth overall despite its offline design.

$400-$430 (EVIQO $407.15, Autel $423.99, Lectron $429.99): the sweet spot. Full 48-50A hardwired output, 23-25 foot cables, app control, and certifications. If a contractor is already opening your panel, spending in this tier captures nearly all the performance the category offers.

$540-$600 (ChargePoint $549.00, Wallbox $583.99, Emporia $599.00): the ecosystem tier. ChargePoint’s replaceable cable and network pedigree, Wallbox’s compact design and energy-pricing features, Emporia’s panel-level PowerSmart load management and solar-aware charging. These are genuinely differentiating features for specific homes – panels near their limit, solar owners, multi-car households – but the amps-per-dollar math is objectively worse, and our table above makes that visible.

Where paying more stops buying performance: past roughly $450, every additional dollar buys software and industrial design, not electrons. Every charger in this guide – including the $199.98 EVDANCE – will deliver the same kilowatt-hours overnight to most EVs, because the vehicle’s onboard charger caps the rate. If your car accepts 7.2 kW, a $599 48A unit and a $299 40A unit charge it identically.

Installing a Level 2 charger: what the DOE and NEC require

The U.S. Department of Energy’s Alternative Fuels Data Center is blunt about the two install paths: most EV owners meet daily needs on the Level 1 cordset that ships with the car, but Level 2 (240V) equipment is the upgrade for ‘drivers with less regular schedules, longer commutes, or EVs with large batteries’. The AFDC also confirms outdoor installation is safe when the equipment is outdoor-rated – which is exactly why the Grizzl-E Classic and Autel MaxiCharger carry indoor/outdoor ratings on their listings.

Three AFDC points will shape your install. First, EV charging is a continuous load under the National Electrical Code (Article 625), and continuous loads are capped at 80% of a breaker’s rating – that is the real reason a 48A charger needs a 60A dedicated circuit, and it is why CNET’s note that the HomeFlex runs ‘up to 50A on a 60A circuit’ sits right at the rule’s edge; the amperage your electrician actually commissions may be lower, so ask before you buy. Second, permits are typically required and installations must comply with local codes – the AFDC recommends a certified electrical contractor. Third, the AFDC recommends purchasing safety-certified equipment tested by a nationally recognized testing laboratory – the Grizzl-E’s ‘UL Certified’ and Lectron’s ‘ETL Listed to UL 2594’ markings on our slate are exactly that.

What does Level 2 charging cost to run? The AFDC’s own math: at 10.7 cents per kWh and an average 27 kWh-per-100-miles efficiency, EV charging costs about 3 cents per mile, and a full charge for a 200-mile-range EV with a 54 kWh battery runs about $6. Time-of-use utility rates can push overnight charging even cheaper – the AFDC notes some utilities offer EV-specific rate plans.

Where we disagree with the big testers

Both major outlets we mined rank a Tesla charger first. MotorTrend’s Eric Tingwall – who has plugged more than 100 EVs into a dozen chargers since wiring his garage in 2022 – calls the Tesla Wall Connector his ‘best overall’ at a tested price of $450, and CNET’s Antuan Goodwin gives overall honors to the Tesla Universal Wall Connector at $620 on Amazon. We anchor instead on the ChargePoint HomeFlex, and we want to be explicit about why, because the Tesla units are genuinely excellent hardware.

Three reasons. First, shopping reality: this is a guide to what you can actually buy on Amazon today, and Amazon’s own EV Charging Stations category – the chart our readers browse – is a J1772-centric lineup where the HomeFlex is the verified #1 Best Seller. The Wall Connector line is principally sold through Tesla’s own channel, and its availability and price on Amazon fluctuate. Second, the Universal’s clever integrated NACS-to-J1772 adapter has a string-on-a-finger compromise MotorTrend itself flags: the adapter locks to the wall box or the cord, so you cannot take it on road trips – which partially defeats the point of carrying one. Third, price: at $549.00 the HomeFlex undercuts the Universal’s $620 Amazon price while adding the replaceable-cable design that no Tesla unit offers. If you are a Tesla-only household, MotorTrend’s pick is still the right call – read their guide. For everyone shopping the J1772 ecosystem on Amazon, our ranking stands.

We also half-disagree with MotorTrend on the Emporia Pro. Their ‘upgrade buy’ label is fair – the PowerSmart load management is genuinely unique – but at $599.00 it costs $192 more than the EVIQO for an identical 48A ceiling, and that premium only pays for itself if your panel genuinely needs load management. MotorTrend’s own framing supports this: the Vue monitor matters most ‘if EV charging ever threatens to trip your home’s main breaker’. If that is not your house, the EVIQO is the smarter spend.

How we chose

Our process is documented step by step in How We Test & Choose Products. In short: we pulled live pricing, availability, best-seller ranks, and listing specs for every unit through Amazon’s product API on October 7, 2026; read the full text of each product page including owner-reported charging times; mined the ‘Customers say’ review summaries for failure patterns; and cross-checked our findings against independent testers and government guidance. We do not run a charging lab – we say so plainly: the hands-on impressions cited here belong to CNET’s and MotorTrend’s testers, the electrical-code context comes from the Department of Energy’s AFDC and the National Electrical Code, and everything else is our own listing analysis. Amazon #1 Best Seller status was verified on the live category chart, not taken from a badge. Prices move; the comparison table’s dollar figures are a same-day snapshot. If you are also shopping the electrified-garage ecosystem, our guides to the best portable power stations and the best electric bikes cover the rest of the battery-powered lineup.

Key sources: U.S. DOE Alternative Fuels Data Center – home charging equipment, NEC Article 625 continuous-load context, and charging-cost math; CNET – lab-tested picks with 25+ years of product-review experience; MotorTrend – Eric Tingwall’s long-term test log of 100+ EVs on a dozen chargers; Plug In America – the nonprofit voice of plug-in vehicle drivers, on charging at home.

Plug In America has spent two decades advocating for plug-in drivers, and its consumer guidance matches what our slate shows: home charging is where EV ownership gets convenient and cheap. Their driver resources are a good next read if you are weighing install choices we only summarize here.

Frequently asked questions

Do all of these work with my EV?

Every unit in this guide uses the J1772 connector, which fits every EV and plug-in hybrid sold in North America except Teslas (Tesla drivers use the adapter that ships with the car). Newer EVs with the NACS port need either the car’s adapter or, as MotorTrend recommends for mixed households, a charger with integrated NACS support – not one of our picks today.

How much faster is Level 2 than the cord that came with my car?

Owner reports on these listings give real numbers: 20-to-80% in about 4 hours for a Mustang Mach-E on the Grizzl-E and about 5 hours on the EVDANCE, and 20-to-100% in under 8 hours on the EVIQO. A Level 1 cordset typically needs a full day or more for the same range.

Hardwired or plug-in – which should I buy?

Plug-in units (Grizzl-E, EVDANCE) need only a NEMA 14-50 outlet and can move with you or be unplugged for portable use. Hardwired units (ChargePoint, EVIQO, Emporia, Autel, Lectron, Wallbox) reach the 48-50A tier, avoid the outlet’s thermal limits, and require an electrician plus permitting under the NEC rules covered above. If you already have a 14-50 outlet, start plug-in; if you are running a new circuit anyway, hardwire.

Is outdoor installation actually safe?

Yes – the DOE’s AFDC states outright that outdoor installation and use are safe ‘even if the vehicle is being charged in the rain’, with one condition: the equipment must be outdoor-rated. The Grizzl-E Classic and Autel MaxiCharger carry indoor/outdoor ratings on their listings; the rest of our slate should be installed in a garage or covered area per their manuals.

What will this add to my electric bill?

Using the AFDC’s average math – 27 kWh per 100 miles at 10.7 cents per kWh – driving 1,000 miles a month adds roughly $29. Ask your utility about time-of-use EV rates, which the AFDC notes can cut the per-mile cost further by charging overnight.

The bottom line: for most homes with a real panel and an electrician booked, the EVIQO at $407.15 is the calculated buy – 48A and a 25-foot cable at $8.48 per amp. Renters and outlet-only homes should grab the Grizzl-E Classic at $299.99. And if you simply want the unit that thousands of Amazon EV owners converged on, the ChargePoint HomeFlex at $549.00 holds the #1 Best Seller spot for defensible reasons – just have your electrician walk you through the WiFi setup on day one.

Share the Post: